Hostinger Review

James Kramer

If you’re into cheap web hosting, Hostinger is possibly one of the best in the market. Offering shared web hosting at $0.99/month, you need to check this out.

Established in 2007 and known as 000webhost.com, it offered free web hosting services, but renamed Hostinger in 2011, it started offering web hosting services to shared cloud hosting. Three years after its launch, it had amassed ten million clients and by 2017, a further 29 million had joined Hostinger’s growing army.

Hostinger
$0.99/mo

Hostinger has provided one of the top web hosting services on the planet, with plenty of options to choose from, Hostinger has been awarded one of the best shared hosting providers as well as VPS.

Visit Hostinger.co.uk Learn More

Hostinger’s community grew extensively within little more than a decade. Its web hosting company boasts a range of features but are those extra perks free or are they limited? 

However, the real question is how good is Hostinger?  Take a look at the features offered below, and also the speed, uptime and other features.

Hostinger Feature Review

  • 100 GB Bandwidth
  • 10 GB Storage
  • 99.96% Uptime
  • 350ms over two years
  • Website BuilderOne email account
  • Shared, Cloud and VPS Hosting Plans
  • 24/7 live chat

Hostinger provides a free website builder alongside the services associated with the plan you choose. It lets you decide from a variety of templates and then personalise everything on it using the Hostinger Website Builder tool. The control panel has a quick, easy-to-use interface which enables you to find everything in one single place. In this way, you can track your logins, update billing information, monitor your emails, and manage your domains all in one location. The enlarged icons on the control panel make everything noticeable and feasible.

Hostinger allows you to sign up for either of the two plans and get access to free unlimited email accounts. You can manage your accounts from the control panel with the spam filters and usage and set up autoresponders and forward emails sent to the customer domain. Hostinger has different packages and options. Single Web Hosting doesn’t offer an unlimited database and bandwidth while most of the packages do. 

Hostinger has a knowledge base with articles based on short, detailed guidelines. Users can choose from three categories, website, domains, and general. It puts forth a comprehensive guideline on website building. The knowledgebase has a separate section providing you with tutorials on how to build a website to search engine optimisation that includes images on how to follow them. 

Another feature of Hostinger is to boost your website’s search engine optimization with SSL that establishes a secure connection between the website and the customer. This develops trust. enabling them to feel more secure while making purchases or generally exploring your site.

A significant shortcoming is that you must pay for extra domain names. Single free domain name registration is permitted for those who subscribe to the Premium or Business shared hosting package. Nevertheless, additional domain registration will be charged for, although it is an affordable feature. Domain with an extension .com and .net are about $10/yearly while. xyz, .tech are under $0.99/yearly

Hostinger is crystal clear about its packages and plans and doesn’t trick you in the same way that most web hosting companies promote their prices with hidden charges. 

If you want a cheap web hosting service, we recommend you subscribe for as long as possible, up to 48 months, at $0.99/month.  After the 48 months or your subscription is up, you’ll paying $2.15/month/

If you commit to this plan for the next four years, you save quite a lot of money during this period.  

Customer support is an eminent feature when it comes to web hosting as Hostinger offers a customer support team via live chat. Additionally, it provides multilingual support designed for customers across the globe. This customer support feature offers  customers the option of selecting a language of their choice for a comfortable conversion. 

Live chat is only accessible if you are logged into a Hostinger account, but once you have logged in, seeking customer support via live chat is simple as a chat support agent immediately connects with you to answer and resolve your queries. 

Impressive Uptime from Hostinger (99.96%)

Hostinger assures reliable uptime. In a performance speed test conducted by us, Hostinger performed impressively, but seems to have lost a few ranks with time. 

Previous 12- month average Uptime:

  • February 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2020 average uptime: 99.95%
  • December 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • November 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • October 2019 average uptime: 99.65%
  • September 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.83%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 99.89%
  • April 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.94%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 100%

Uptime is the prominent aspect when choosing the right web hosting service. Downtime is directly proportionate to the search rankings of your website on Google.

Money back offer from Hostinger

Hostinger offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try them out and experience their features. If you are dissatisfied with the performance, you can always ask for a refund.  

However, features like redemption fees, domain name renewals, and privacy protection are not refundable. A new domain name registration is only refundable if you process it within four days. These terms and conditions should be kept in mind before proceeding.  

E-Commerce & Marketing

Hostinger online store enables you to download recommended applications like OpenCart, Simple Invoices, and ZenCart. To ensure privacy and safety, Hostinger equips you with accessories that attach an additional coat of security. A Secure Socket Layer certificate is given with most of the plans, but purchasable for other plans. This is necessary for protective purposes, especially if you intend to sell products on your website.

Hostinger’s Load Time

Web hosting speed plays a vital role in both SEO and user engagement. According to  latest research, if a website takes more than two seconds to load, it is likely that a visitor might close the website. increasing the bounce rate by a staggering 32% and making everything fall apart in a mere fraction of a second. The lack of good speed is the first cause of death for many small businesses. Giving a good impression to site visitors, Hostinger boasts servers in Asia, Europe, and the USA with a connection of 1000 Mbps, ensures a stable loading time.

Here’s a quick review of Hostinger average speed from 2019 to 2020.

January 202099.95%302 ms
December 201999.98%293 ms
November 201999.99%331 ms
October 201999.65%398 ms
September 2019100%317 ms
August 2019100%285 ms
July 2019100%302 ms
June 201999.83%382 ms
May 201999.89%374 ms
April 2019100%410 ms
March 201999.94%382 ms
February 2019100%339 ms

Hostinger Cost Table + Packages


Single Shared PlanPremium Shared PlanBusiness Shared Plan
Pricing$0.99/monthly$2.59/monthly$3.99/monthly
Websites1Unmetered100
Bandwidth100 GB20 GBUnmetered
Storage10 GB100100 GB
Email Accounts1100100
Extra featuresFree domain SSH AccessFree Domain Daily Backups Free CDN
Daily BackupsNoNoYes
Free Domain RegistrationNoYesYes
Webmail AccessYesYesYes
DNS ManagementYesYesYes

Single Shared Hosting

  • Starting at the cost of $0.99/monthly
  • One website
  • Free domain
  • 100 GB Bandwidth
  • Two Subdomains
  • Up to 10,000 visits monthly
  • Managed Word Press

Description: Single Shared Hosting is excellent for beginners at the starting cost of $0.99 a month. It has 99.9% uptime safety, cloud fare, protected name servers, and DNS management, a surpassing combination for anyone with a set budget, but needs it to work.

Premium Shared Hosting

  • Starting at the cost of $1.89/monthly
  • 100 Websites
  • 20 GB SSD Storage
  • Free Email
  • Google Ads credit
  • Unlimited Bandwidth

Description: With customer support 24/7 and a 99.9% uptime guarantee, the Premium Shared Hosting is perfect for creating personal websites. It provides you with 100 websites, and unlimited FTP, DNS Management starts at the cost of $1.89/month. The free SSL adds a layer to the security, ensuring your privacy. 

Business Shared Hosting

  • Starting at $3.99/month
  • 100 GB SSD Storage
  • Free Email
  • Managed WordPress
  • WordPress Acceleration

Description: Business Shared Hosting starts at a cost of $3.99 monthly and is suitable for small companies. Features like unlimited domains, unlimited subdomains, Cloudflare Protected Nameservers, and GIT access are exemplary for entrepreneurs.

Cloud Hosting Packages

Hostinger’s cloud hosting packages are user friendly, as are their shared web hosting packages when compared to the best cloud hosting providers. The features are compelling and it seems as though they have combined the best features of virtual private servers and shared hosting to generate leading Cloud Hosting Packages. With free daily backups, SSL encryption, and embedded Cloudfare protection, the fully managed support enables you to sit back and allow Hostinger to handle the rest.

Additionally, with features like CDN, loading time takes a fraction of a second without any downtime. Should your website faces downtime less than 99.9%  as a result of any Hostinger error,  you can contact them and get a 5% monthly fee refund. 

PLAN FEATURESStartup $9.99/monthlyProfessional $18.99/monthlyGlobal $56.99/monthly
Memory3 GB6 GB1 GB
SSD Storage100 GB140 GB200 GB
CPU Cores248
BandwidthUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Speed Boost1X2X4X
Isolated ResourcesYesYesYes
Daily BackupsYesYesYes
Access ManagerYesYesYes
Multiple PHP VersionYesYesYes
24/7 Customer SupportYesYesYes
Inode Count200000028000004000000
Free Domain RegistrationYesYesYes
Database Size6 GB6 GB6 GB
Entry Processes50100150
Active Processes100200300
1-Click App InstallerYesYesYes

Virtual Private Server (VPS) Hosting Packages

Hostinger endures prominent VPS options with no downtime whatsoever with up to 30% faster features than the standard shared hosting plans. Hostinger’s VPS Hosting combinations are a vast deal for enterprise users.

The easy-to-use VPS Hosting offers an easy to use control panel which enables you to run your virtual private server with just a few clicks. Rebooting the system, turning the power off, or installing the latest web scripts; everything can be achieved in very little time. 

The eminent contrast between VPS packages and their cloud hosting plans is that with the VPS hosting plan, customers have full root access which enables them to take full control of their server with limited technical knowledge, whereas  cloud hosting users get a fully managed service.

Hostinger’s VPS Hosting feature is thoroughly bound with dedicated IPv4 and IPv6 internet protocol even in the cheapest VPS hosting package. This allows you to start IPv4 mapping features for custom port connections. 

Hostinger’s VPS entry-level plans start at a cost of $3.95 per month. Should you feel you have outgrown these services, you can always promote to a plan which suits your requirements better. 

Plan FeaturesVPS 1 $3.95/monthlyVPS 2 $8.95/monthlyVPS 3 $12.95/monthlyVPS4 $15.95/monthly
Vcpu1 core2 cores3 cores4 cores
Memory(RAM)1 GB2 GB3 GB4 GB
SSD Storage20 GB40 GB60 GB80 GB
Geekbench Score3513536375458953
Bandwidth1 TB2 TB3 TB4 TB
Dedicated IPYesYesYesYes
Full Root AccessYesYesYesYes
24/7 SupportyesyesYesyes





Apart from these packages, VPS 5 and VPS 6 include enhanced specialities starting at a high valuation. The VPS 5 plan starts at $23.95 a month while VPS 6 costs about $38.99 per month. The difference between them is that VPS6 offers v CPU of 8 Cores, 8 GB RAM, 160 GB SSD Storage, and 8 TB Bandwidth. 

Minecraft Hosting at Hostinger

A fun plan at Hostinger is a Minecraft hosting package that enables  you to set up your Minecraft server by an easy method, which is an appealing feature if you are enthusiastic about gaming. With a diversity of deals on offer, one of the most popular plans is the Villager package. Starting at a cost of $12.95 per month it offers you 3GB RAM, DDos Protection to ensure security against DDoS attacks, free MySQL and full root access

Pros and Cons of Hostinger

PROSCONS
Expert customer supportNo conventional control panel
Monthly and annual combinationsLimited Windows option
Reliable uptimeNo phone assistance
Unlimited BandwidthLack of free unlimited domain names
Key FeaturesRecommended For
Great SupportBeginners
Unlimited StorageAffiliate Marketers
Unlimited BandwidthProfessional Blogs
1-Click InstallerJoomla, Drupal

Personal Blog

Hostinger Alternatives

InMotion hosting, an award-winning company and top-rated host by CNET, gives Hostinger an unfavourable game because of its most eclectic hosting service and trustworthy data drive storage. 

BlueHost is another opponent that has dedicated VPS servers with superior features, root access, and dedicated customer support. Bluehost beats Hostinger because it provides a free domain name in its dedicated and VPS hosting plans. 

Another competitor of Hostinger is SiteGround, This has a huge user base with strong  reviews while Hostinger has mixed reviews from its users.

Another opponent is A2 Hosting. This is rated higher than Hostinger owing to its  premium WordPress hosting bundles with extensive storage monthly data transfers and email.

Hostinger Reviews from Customers

Hostinger customer support is the worst I have ever dealt with. They moved my website and said it wouldn’t take long. By the time they had finished moving it, my website was broken down into the code. I asked them for help because they broke it in the first place. Later, they sent me a tutorial on how to fix it with a smile emoji. I spent three days working on trying to fix it with minimum assistance. Website loading takes forever to load. 

Good experience. I have a good experience with Hostinger overall. I have been hosting a couple of websites with them and the uptime is great. The cost is reasonable and cheap. I gave them four stars because they have changed their live chat support to a ticketing system during the pandemic. The tutorials provided for building a website have a lot of useful tips and tricks too. 

Unpleasant experience

I bought the Hostinger Business Shared package and in less than 24 hours, I decided to file a refund request. They have a good cancel policy and the price is fairly reasonable, but no live chat 24/7 is available. You have to send them a ticket alert with  your query. which makes things difficult because I only had a quick question and I didn’t have enough time to send an email to them. This just makes things worse.

Unhappy 

I have sent about five queries to Hostinger in the last month and they haven’t answered me any one of them. I am very unhappy with the service they have given me. The chat is never available and the “contact us” and email support have  completely ignored me. When Hostinger answered my queries previously, there were vague answers with “ I am so happy to help”. Setting up was a total nightmare, so if you are not very tech-savvy, this will cause you a lot of problems.  Unless you are young and extremely tech-savvy, please don’t subscribe to Hostinger. 

My experience with Hostinger has been the worst by far. The customer support system is terrible. They don’t have phone support and they don’t respond to emails. I have sent five emails and haven’t received a response so far.  I have a lot of critical work to get done on my control panel. The 2FA setup I had when I configured my 2FA I provided proof that I owned this website. I shared all of the screenshots with them and they refused to help me and didn’t reply to my emails. This issue has now been unresolved for more than four months. 

I have heard mixed opinions about Hostinger, but my experience has been different as they have improved their customer support. With my little technical knowledge, they  guided me and answered my queries patiently. I was very impressed with the service Hostinger gave me so I put my second website there too.  I highly recommend them at the moment. 

I do not recommend Hostinger Their customer support is highly unprofessional. They promise to offer live chat support but when you reach out to them you have to wait for at least four to six hours. They also boast a 99% uptime guarantee, but it is not more than 70%. The website is down almost every day because of maintenance. The cost is reasonable, but I feel it isn’t worth it. 

Waste of time 

The customer support is useless and unprofessional. I tried to take my website on their cloud server and wasted my entire day trying to upload it as the connection failed each time after exactly an hour. I reached out to their customer support and they told me it was their limit of connection length.

I have been a user of various web hosting providers, mostly the larger ones. They cost a lot of money and in return do not give ensure quality, sustainability and reliability. I was recommended Hostinger by a friend of mine and I do not regret choosing them as I have had a transparent journey with them. They are reasonable with a 24/7 support,  decent uptime and solve all your problems quickly. The highly professional customer support team is extremely patient and I look forward to working with this company. More people need to know about Hostinger and I hope my review will spread the word. 

Do We Recommend Hostinger?

Yes. Excellent activity, user-friendly, exceptional customer support, and above all, Hostinger/s beginner single web hosting package includes a variety of unlimited perks and free features. The Premium Cloud and Business Web Hosting packages accommodate enhanced and upgraded features enabling you to launch your website within moments.  It enables conventional one-click set up for WordPress and other popular applications.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Hostinger
Author Rating
41star1star1star1stargray
Product Name
Hostinger Web Hosting
Price
$ 0.99
Product Availability
Available in Stock